Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  11
    Taking A Stand!!!

Local Union
    Employer
    ABF

Default How a 15-Hour Workweek Could Change Our Lives for the Better

15 hours a week seems a little extreme to me. My very first job I worked in a factory and we worked 4 days a week but also worked ten hours a day to get our same pay. I do think Americans work way too hard and not because we are all a bunch of workaholics but because we have no choice. Lets throw driving a truck into the mix. Not much choice there. As husband and I get older, I feel all he has done is work since he went to ABF and we have had little time to enjoy life. The trade off is good pay and hopefully a good pension. Now I just hope we both live long enough to enjoy it!

I work nearly three times that much now. Is this normal?

Sadly, yes. The Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development shows that American workers put in an average of 1,786 hours annually, 200 more hours than their British and French peers. Yet study after study reveals that working more hours doesn’t increase productivity—just stress, health issues and carbon emissions.

How much less should I be working?

An often-cited 2016 study found that workers performed best when they were clocking in just three days a week, five hours a day. Advocates of a 15-hour workweek, such as Dutch author Rutger Bregman, argue that much of the work we do now is pointless at best and harmful at worst, so we should do much less of it. Major trade unions in Germany, the Netherlands, Ireland and the U.K. have all backed a four-day workweek, and the British Labour Party’s shadow chancellor, John McDonnell, has promised to reduce the average workweek to 32 hours within the next decade, proclaiming, “We should work to live, not live to work.” Microsoft Japan experimented with a shorter workweek and trumpeted that it actually boosted productivity and cut down on time-wasting.