Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Fish Hard Die Happy

Local Union
    Employer
    Roadway

Default An email from my Steward

I got this email today from my Steward. I don't know the origin or destiniation of the source, but the contents of the letter hits the nail right on the head. I would love to shake the authors hand. It's very long, and the forum won't let me post in one spot, so please read the continuation immedialtely following.

I'm a city driver of over 19 years with USF Holland in Atlanta,Ga. I also have a Management background in the trucking industry. I'm writing you today out of great concerns in reference to YRC Worldwide wanting the Teamsters to make concessions.
    These are just my opinions and views.
    If you take a look at Yellow Freights operating ratio over the last 10 years, it's not very impressive. And as you well know, Yellow Freight came very close to filing for bankruptcy just a few short years before acquiring Roadway. Whenever Yellow Freight has shown a profit its only been minimal.
    Whenever Yellow Freight acquired Roadway Express everyone from all of
    the LTL Companies both union and non-union were wondering where Yellow
    Freight came up with the money to buy Roadway. I myself figured that Yellow Freight used Roadway's assets as collateral on a loan as I didn't see Yellow Freight as having the financial resources to make the purchase. At that time I told a great number of people that I saw it as Yellow Freight trying to dig their way out of a financial bind that they seemed to have been in for a while. I felt as though Yellow saw Roadway as a company that had everything paid for and making a fairly decent profit. In my personal opinion, I feel that Yellow Freight basically saw it as a bailout for them. Soon after acquiring Roadway, Yellow began taking some of Roadways freight by under-cutting roadways pricing, then ended up losing accounts due to poor service